Awards 2015

The award ceremony for achievements of Australian writers and artists in science fiction and fantasy will be held during the 54th National Australian Convention – Swancon 40 at 7:30pm on Sunday 5th April. All members are invited to cast a vote and attend the ceremony. 

Ditmar Awards 2015

The Australian SF (“Ditmar”) awards has been awarded annually since 1969 at the Australian National Science Fiction Convention (the “Natcon”) to recognise achievement in Australian science fiction (including fantasy and horror). 

Voting for the Ditmars has been extended for one week. Voting will now remain open until one minute before midnight Perth time, Sunday, 29th of March, 2015 (ie. 11.59pm, GMT+8).

Voting is open to all members of Swancon 40 (including supporting members) and to members of Continuum 10 who were eligible to vote in the 2014 Award. All eligible voters are urged to take part in the voting.

Information about the ballot and voting

Vote for the 2015 Ditmar Awards

For any further questions please contact the Ditmar Subcommittee via

The Tin Duck Awards is the annual Western Australian Science Fiction Foundation (WASFF) Achievement Awards for WA writers and artists. It has been awarded annually since 1980 at Swancon 5 to recognise achievement in Western Australian Science Fiction (including fantasy and horror).

Download Ballot Paper for the 2015 Tin Duck Awards

Categories for the 2015 Tin Ducks

You can print, fill, scan and email the ballot back to Or you can papermail to our PO box, listed on the ballot. Or you can drop off at the ballot box on the front desk at the convention, before dinner on Saturday. Ballot papers will be available at the desk.

Don’t forget to print your name and sign the ballot!

Your email should include your name, plus the category and title for each nomination.

Other National Awards

A. Bertram Chandler Award
In 1991 the Australian Science Fiction Foundation (“ASFF”) set about establishing a new award for Outstanding Achievement in Australian Science Fiction.
Unlike the Ditmars, this award is decided upon by a jury and, although nominally an annual award presented in conjunction with the Natcon, is not necessarily presented every year.

Norma K. Hemming Award
The Norma K. Hemming Award marks excellence in the exploration of themes of race, gender, sexuality, class and disability in the form of science fiction and fantasy or related artwork or media produced either in Australia or by Australian citizens. ASFF launched this award at Aussiecon 4 in 2010. It is also presented in conjunction with the Natcon, but is not necessarily presented every year.

The Peter McNamara Achievement Award
The Peter McNamara Achievement Award (aka. “The Mac”) is a lifetime achievement award presented in honour of the late Peter NcNamara at the National convention awards ceremony.

Happy voting!

Awards Tin ducks
Published: 19:53 on Feb 01, 2015
Last Updated: 23:29 on Mar 24, 2015